Valentine’s Day Roses

An old man got on a bus one February 14, carrying a dozen red roses. He sat beside a young man. The young man looked at the roses and said, “Somebody’s going to get a beautiful Valentine’s Day gift.”

“Yes,” said the old man.

20120706-232401.jpg

A few minutes went by and the old man noticed that his young companion was staring at the roses. “Do you have a girlfriend?” the old man asked.

“I do,” said the young man. “I’m going to see her now. I’m bringing her this.” He held up a Valentine’s Day card.

They rode along in silence for another 10 minutes, and the old man rose to get off the bus. As he stepped out into the aisle, he suddenly placed the roses on the young man’s lap and said, “I think my wife would want you to have these. I’ll tell her that I gave them to you.”

He left the bus quickly, and as the bus pulled away, the young man turned to see the old man enter the gates of a cemetery.

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Valentine’s Day Roses

  1. agongkia says:

    This old man originally intend to pay respect to his late wife at the cemetery with roses but is indecisive of offering it though he had brought it along.I am one of those who do not offer flowers due to some belief.
    When he see the young man,he found that the latter need it more to go along with the valentine card so he gave it to him ,and enter the cemetery to visit his wife’s grave.He would then tell the wife that someone need it more.
    Nothing unusual to see someone entering the cemetery and I may even have to visit in the night to ask for Chap Jee Kee numbers if my friend Cheng Ah Hoo keep asking me for money when I have none.

    • Agonkia,
      You just gave me an opportunity to talk about Chap Ji Kee (CJK). This is a form of gambling where you bet 2 sets of numbers from 1 to 12. CJK translates to 12 numbers from Hokkien. Eg if you were to punt 11 and 12 or sometimes called husband & wife numbers, and the result came out exactly then you strike.
      It’s an obsolete game that used to appeal to older folks in the kampung neighbourhood. It’s localized meaning there are few syndicates running this gambling ring in different territory.
      Basically the payment is about 50 times of what you punted. If it came out reverse, it becomes 25 times. Correct me of I’m wrong.
      The syndicate thru its runners would collect bets to be recorded in a CJK master schedule. The winning set of numbers shall be declared by the syndicate boss – usually no one bet or the least bets on that set of numbers in order to ensure a harvest of profits! This is 100% cheating. Those punters know it yet they willing to try their luck. Why? I can’t explain.
      It’s on twice a day all 7 days round the year! Usually, the morning result is out by 10.00am and the evening result around 10.00pm. If you observe in some coffee shops or wet market in the HDB neighbourhood you could see groups of ppl whispering numbers and passing cash money congregating in groups seemingly doing nothing but gossiping. It’s also exclusive to the older Chinese folks.
      Many CJK syndicates esp in the Jln Besar, Chinatown, Balestier and the old Ellenborough mkt Hill Street areas made fortune from such illegal gambling rackets.
      My advice is to buy Big Sweep but if you wanna ask numbers from the departed then try Toto or 4-D which are more purely based on chance.
      You are such an intelligent person yet you believe in throwing your hard earned money on CJK? Langgar!

      In case you wondering how I know all these? I was once an IO in GSB/CID dealing with those crooks. I’ve seen some of them driving Jaguars and living in penthouses with young mistress cuz I raided their premises for evidence.

      • Expensive price says:

        It is better to be a live rat than a dead lion…….a parable from biblical text . The dead cannot appreciate tasty food, beautiful flowers – the old man was wise
        and gracious as the young man’s wife would appreciate more and hopefully love the man more for the tot.

  2. agongkia says:

    hehe….I mention CJK to make you talk about the subject. I dun buy CJK and must not make it sounds like CJK is still active now .
    Talking about game of chance,I am just wondering whether other kind of bet will also use the same tactic as CJK like you mentioned..i.e after I collect back the unsold ticket ,whether it is possible for me to choose those unsold ticket number and make it first and second prize.I also have an idea on the possibility on how to decide what number to appear by using balls.
    Of course I know you ex.Thanks for sharing.

  3. Darling says:

    It is likely that the young man
    will go to his pastor or exorcist
    instead of seeing his girl friend.

    Darling

  4. Darling says:

    ‘Chap Ji Kee’ like ‘tikam tikam’ gives
    plenty of happy hopeful anticipation.

    Usually, punters bet small amount
    and it is easier to strike than 4 numbers
    out of ten or 4 numbers out of 45. Very
    seldom that runner allows non-payment bet,
    meaning no payment no betting.
    Results are announced daily and payment
    is made normally the next day by the
    runner. In a way, it is quite fun.

    Darling

    • Hey, the CJK winning numbers are decided at will by the chief or boss of the CJK syndicate. It means they arbitrary decide the set of winning numbers. It is not tikam tikam my darling! It is blatant cheating! Langgar!

      • Darling says:

        Hahaha….

        Gintai;

        Agongkia has hinted some sleights and dare me says there are many more
        underhand methods involved in all forms of gambling legal and illegal alike.

        Blatant cheating?
        Dont think any gambling operator will agree to that, but I do, although me
        would like to say that seldom is anyone forced to gamble. It’s always
        willing transaction.

        Btw, gambling is illegal unless licensed. I wondered whole life what’s the
        diff between legal and illegal gambling but just cannot find a good answer;
        do You have any?

        Darling

        • My answer to your question is that if you pay taxes it’s legal. If you don’t pay taxes then it’s illegal. It’s the same as cigarettes. As simple as that. Just pay the taxes then you will be OK.

          • Darling says:

            Gambling in the older days were quite fun, firstly, it was home service, the runner came all the way infront of the customer to collect the bet and to pay in cash, any winning. There was no need for baring anyone. Usually, a very small amount of credit allowed
            and if payment not made, no more betting.
            There was also no rejection for betting of hot numbers, the runner will inform the customer only partial prize payment depending on the amount of bet on the hot number.

            There were much less cheating of non-payment by bookies than tontine operator, another illegal business.

            As a boy in the Sixties, me used to play five to ten cents on ‘chap ji kee’, struck once or
            twice and was happy as a lark.

            This one, last comment on gambling at this thread.

            Good Nite!

            Darling

Comments are closed.