Insurance sales agent

A young life insurance sales agent walked into a factory and asked to see the sales manager. When the manager finally greeted her in his office, the agent nervously said, “You don’t want to buy any life insurance, do you?”

20120704-220625.jpg

“No,” replied the sales manager curtly.

“I didn’t think you would,” said the agent as she got up and headed for the door.

“Wait a minute!” said the sales manager. “Come back here.”

“Yes, sir,” said the agent, obviously nervous and frightened.

“You are without a doubt the worst sales person I’ve ever seen.”

The agent looked down. “Yes, I know ….”

“Listen, you’ve got to have enthusiasm when you sell – you have to be positive, not negative. You have to believe in yourself.”

“Yes, sir.”

“Now, look, I’m a busy man, but I’ll show you how.” And for the next 30 minutes the sales manager gave the young agent all the benefits of his experience and wisdom.

“I don’t know how to thank you,” said the agent.

“That’s all right,” said the sales manager.

“Now, because you’re obviously new at this, I’ll buy a small policy from you.”

The agent quickly dug out a policy. The sakes manager signed it, then said, “Remember, don’t go in cold, not knowing what you’re going to say. Work out a planned and organized sales presentation.”

The agent smiled. “Oh, I have. What you’ve just seen is my organized approach to sales managers.”

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends. At least they know I'm still alive and well. It's a free country. No one is forcing you to read if you don't like what I write. I'm entitled to my own opinions. Having said that, there are still retards, morons and losers out there hiding behind anonymity hurling all kinds of insults and wicked remarks on my blog. I guess we'll just have to live with these cowardly mangy dogs found in any society. Sigh!
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Insurance sales agent

  1. agongkia says:

    Oops ,no response so far?No one interested in insurance?

    The only time when I see my insurance agent is when they want me to buy a policy and to pay premium.
    Coming to claim,have to do it myself.Just call up one customer service officer on some enquiry after the assigned agent fail to return my call after several days.and in the end I have to give solution instead. Just feel that there is a shortage of dedicated professional in this field.
    Just wonder why nowadays there are no more Charbor calling me every time to buy insurance.

    Maybe we should allow those local with lower primary education to sell insurance without that O level requirement .Why deprive local Ah Seng and Ah Lian from selling insurance and becoming million dollar club member because of their qualification.

    • Hey,
      I will get you a young sexy chio bu to talk to you about insurance ok? Package deal lah. Insurance with extra benefits for you. You know what I mean? Nowadays, it’s quite common.

      • agongkia says:

        Thank you Gintai,
        Just feel that agent need to be encourage and know the importance of after sales service.Give our local new agent a chance and support them by taking up a small policy as an encouragement like what the above sales manager do if one can afford.Never think of taking advantage of them by asking for a discount or other benefits.
        Its not easy to be an agent but with hard work and determination,its worth the effort.

        But seems that agent are not active nowadays .
        Possibly business too good,maybe they only look for big fish,or because its easy to sell insurance policy nowadays.Just tell the prospect that your friend Koh Ah Wan pay only $8 for a bypass without telling them how much premium to pay,I think they sure sign.hehe..

        But paiseh,I was once an agent for few years and is guilty of not continuing but I still keep in touch with those who had given me the support .What I do not want to be done to myself,I never do to others,so buy insurance because of needs and not because of chiobu lah.

  2. expensive profits says:

    Maybe she should join the staff at our large mega churches – they will equip her in taking cash from anybody she meets using a non payable perpetual promise.

    • If one really has complete faith in God, no need insurance. Just leave it with God. Not to worry too much. Just make sure you pray hard and everything will be fine.

Comments are closed.