The lion and the mouse

20120609-182805.jpg

The Lion And The Mouse

A huge strong lion was fast asleep in a dense jungle. A timid little mouse was passing by that way. Without realizing, the mouse bumped into the lion. The lion as disturbed. Getting up from his slumber, he caught hold of the mouse and roared, “You silly little creature! How dare you wake me up from my sleep? Don’t you know who I am?”

20120609-182922.jpg

The mouse was terrified. “Spare me please!” he begged. “Let me go. I wouldn’t even be enough for your snack. Someday I will surely repay you.”

“Ha! Ha! Ha!” the lion laughed at the mouse’s words. “How can a puny creature like you be of any help to me?”

Seeing tears in the mouse’s eyes made the lion feel sorry. Even though he was strong, he was kind hearted. He set the mouse free.

Some days later, the lion went out hunting for his prey. Just then, a hunter’s net fell on him.

Unable to free himself, he filled the forest with his angry roaring, “Grrr! Grrrr!”

Far away, the little mouse recognized his cry for help and rushed to him. The mouse found the lion struggling in the net. The mouse started gnawing at the net with his sharp teeth. Very soon the lion was free. The grateful lion thanked the mouse for his timely help.

“An act if kindness is always rewarded!”

20120609-183018.jpg

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The lion and the mouse

  1. agongkia says:

    An act of kindness is always rewarded?30 years ago maybe?

    Please dun think I always want to go against you. I am just against that sentence.
    Nowadays,In SINgapore,I just feel like Hor Shim Bor Ho Por.Gone are the days where you can see those grateful people.To me ,out of ten you helped or being kind to them ,maybe only 3 will remember you .
    Some of those that you helped or had been kind to can even despise you when they are doing better than you.
    Not boasting hor.I have been kind to many and not expecting any return but today I am in deep shit because of being kind and helping some of these people.Never repay never mind because I dun expect return when I am helping but some even betray me instead of showing gratitude.

    Help others when they need help but dun expect anything in return.You may not feel so hurt if they betray you.
    But today if you want me to help or do any kind act ,I will still do it within my mean.
    And paiseh…dun think I have forgotten the Liang Teh that I want to buy for you here.

    • Hello Agongkia,
      I’m happy that you took the trouble not only to read but comment on my post. You may disagree with me all you want, no issue at all. So long it’s not personal, go ahead and argue your points. Try and convince me if you can.
      I feel that whatever we do, don’t expect any reward or return is the best. Give or help others then forget abt it. I think here it refers to the accumulation of merit. The more you help, the more it will be good for your karma. Thks.

  2. agongkia says:

    Not forgetting the story can also end like this:
    The mouse ,after being released,saw a hunter in the jungle.
    In order to move freely without facing any future threat,the mouse lead the hunter and show him the location of the lion.Bang.Bang,Bang..the lion is dead.
    The mouse can move freely now.
    Kindness guarantee reward meh?Sorry,no intention to langgar.

    • If I were the mouse, I won’t be so stupid as to get rid of the lion cuz the lion is now my “godfather!” The lion will protect and defend me cuz I saved his life. If I get rid of the lion, many others will harm me. If the lion is behind me, I can do whatever I want. Don’t ever think that once the lion is gone, the mouse can move freely in the jungle. That is very naive of you to think like that. Really langgar!

      • agongkia says:

        Hehe..what happen if the mouse pass the info to the hunter immediately after being released and before the lion was trap?No more some more days for the lion to fall into the trap.Lion can even die on the same day.
        You never heard elephant also scared of mouse meh?Remember that animal chess game?
        If you happen to let those cunning one survive .One of these days they will make you suffer and even suck your blood in return.And we still gong gong says we done a good deed.

        • That shld not be the case. The lion already spared the mouse and the little fella passed info to the hunter? The mouse will get his retribution if he did that. It’s against code of conduct. I won’t want to be that mouse. Ungrateful and no principle at all.

  3. what you give is what you get. reap what you sow. karma. nothing more nothing less. nice post uncle gintai!!!

  4. En En says:

    when i was reading your blog, i was anticipating it to end something like: even though the mouse had repaid the lion for releasing him by freeing the lion from the net. then one day, the lion got really really extremely hungry and decided to eat the mouse. or maybe the one day accidentally drop his heavy paw on the mouse, therefore accidentally kill the mouse.

    Actually life is pretty unfair no matter how you see it. If you expect the world to be fair with you because you are fair, you’re fooling yourself. That’s like expecting the lion not to eat you because you didn’t eat him.

    And hor… i think the mouse can get away in the 1st place is really really really indeed extremely lucky. Not everyone can be so damn lucky. If I’m the mouse who managed to get away. I will siam far far away from the forest never to appear in front of the lion again. siao! LOL 😛

    • Yes. This is an imperfect and cruel world. That doesn’t mean that we also shld behave like that. We just try our best to aim as a perfect being – which is not quite possible cuz there is only one Mother Theresa but we just do according to our conscience and leave the rest to fate and karma. Life is just a short bliss and it’s gone. Why bother so much? Why must we always seek every advantage over everything? The so called Kia si and Kia su mindset ? To each his own. Thks for your comment.

  5. Expensive Price says:

    Romantic nonsenses – fact is very life form needs to eat another ( except for most plants). – our vegetarian brothers n sister attempt to proclaim that they do not eat another life except plants which do not have “feelings” and a soul ( if u hv religious inclinations) – fact is in a Darwinian world the fittest omnivore is the one that survives best.

    This hypocrisy is the same as a ” Greenie” who flies by Jet to attend an environmental conference many times a year. Pls do not be fooled by another’s crazy belief system, after all of us have our own madness – we always think the other is the crazy and when we get together as a mob or society we can get others to conform and embrace our craziness.

Comments are closed.