The lazy farmer

20120609-204233.jpg

The rain gods had been smiling the whole night. The roads were muddy and the potholes were filled to the brim.

It was the day for the market and Jocob the farmer was riding his cart along the country road. He had to reach the market early to sell his hay. The horses could hardly drag the load through the deep mud. He came to a part of the road where the wheels sank into the mire.

The more the horses pulled, the deeper the wheel sank. Jacob climbed down from his seat and stood beside his cart. He could find no one around to help him.

Cruising his bad luck, he looked dejected and defeated. He didn’t make the slightest effort to get down to the wheel and lift it up by himself. Looking up at the sky, he started shouting at God, “I am so unlucky! Why has this happened to me? Oh God, come down to help me.”

20120609-204319.jpg

After a long wait, God finally appeared before Jacob. He asked Jacob, “Do you think you can move the chariot by simply looking at it and whining about it? Nobody will help you unless you make some effort to help yourself. Did you try to get the wheel out of the pothole by yourself? Get up and put your shoulder to the wheel and you will soon find the way out.”

Jacob was ashamed of himself. He bent down and out his shoulder to the wheel and urged on the horses.

In no time, the wheel was out of the mire. Jacob learnt his lesson. He thanked God and carried on his journey happily.

“God help those who help themselves!”

20120609-204446.jpg

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends. At least they know I'm still alive and well. It's a free country. No one is forcing you to read if you don't like what I write. I'm entitled to my own opinions. Having said that, there are still retards, morons and losers out there hiding behind anonymity hurling all kinds of insults and wicked remarks on my blog. I guess we'll just have to live with these cowardly mangy dogs found in any society. Sigh!
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The lazy farmer

  1. agongkia says:

    The Hokkien says,Charp Pui Kow Tai.Cannot remember having seen a fat farmer before.
    Unfair to say he is lazy, its just that he is born like that and fated that he does not know how to use his brain.Need God to tell him what to do.I have sympathy on him.

  2. Lohcifer says:

    “Out of 10 fatties, 9 are stupid.” You talking bout me dude?

    • agongkia says:

      Dr,you are the number 10th.Not among the 9.
      I am also Ah Pui,but among the 9.
      Agongkia may be gong but Gintai may not necessary be Tai.
      But Gintai,you dun need God to tell you how to blog lah.The way you write tell me that you are not overweight.

      • Lol! I nvr met you before so I wont know your size. Anyway I’ll be meeting god this Fri at former CMPB opposite Botanic Gardens. If you are not “gone”, you shld know who I’m referring to. Let’s see how it goes. Thks.

        • Lohcifer says:

          Meeting God huh? Agongkia and I plus many others will be praying for you, not to worry.

    • Alamak! Chinese saying lah. One of them is super brilliant. Without doubt, it’s you lah! Lol!

Comments are closed.