Drink Don’t Drive

20120517-205501.jpg

I would like to share an experience with you about drinking and driving.

20120517-210147.jpg

As you well know, some of us have been known to have had brushes with the authorities on our way home from the odd social session over the years.

A couple of nights ago, I was out for a few drinks with some friends at the Orchard Towers and had a few too many beers and some rather nice red wine.

20120517-211510.jpg

Knowing full well I may have been slightly over the limit, I did something I’ve never done before:

20120517-210620.jpg

I took a bus home.

20120517-210401.jpg

Sure enough I passed a police road block but as it was a bus, they waved it past.

20120517-210716.jpg

I arrived home safely without incident which was a real surprise, as I have never driven a bus before and am not sure where I got it.

From: Lohcifer

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Drink Don’t Drive

  1. agongkia says:

    Gintai,time to accept fate lah.

    I am not afraid of drunkard driver now.I am only worry of Foreign Talent who are drivers.I believe not all,but many have bought their kopi license in their country of origin and if we let them especially those Ah Sia Kia,drive without passing a special driving test here,there will be more mishaps.So whether drunkard driver or not,makes no difference to me.

    I dun need any BIP to pay respect in front of my alter if I am dead becos it will only make me more tulan.Dun tell me that my family or I dun have to pay my remaining HDB loan if I am dead because HDB will not allow me to buy a flat without insurance so automatically insurance should cover it.I oso know LOR.

    And I dun want to affect my descendants’ eligibility to enter U or poly if I have any…I just want to stay safe and dun want to die because of those kopi license drivers who may got it becos they are rich.I wonder how much fine he only need to pay if he is not dead.
    If anyone want to take advantage of my death for publicity ,please send someone to pua puay and ask me in advance and PAY an advertisement fee if I agree.I dun need wreath and want to go quietly and peacefully if its me,not make me more Tulan.I had enough.
    Telling the TP to be more strict now is not necessary as it only mean to say that our TP is not performing their duty which I think is unfair to them.

    I now have to look left look right look left look right ,look here look there until someone had to horn me before I am confident to start moving at traffic light.And please dun tell me that that hualari driver is drunk.

    I pai pai and pray for everyone to be safe from accident everyday.,whether walking or driving.

  2. Yelp. Agreed. Pls take care of yourself ok? Be careful when you walk on our roads. Look out for Ferrari or bus drivers. These 2 are dangerous “killing machines” on the roads.

  3. The empty roads around Punggol and Sengkang were some of the favourite spots for some speed demons and they were not even driving Ferraris. Nearly got knocked down by some racing BMW at a zebra crossing once.

  4. The title says it all.
    Lohcifer is such a joker 😀

  5. Ape,
    Yelp. Lohcifer is a joker. You may wish to visit his blog at http://lohandbehold.wordpress.com
    Check it for more witty fun there.

  6. Toothfully,
    I dont know if I shld say this. When I was in my early 20s – mid 1980s, I was training as a traffic mobile squad. We used to practice our skills at the old Thomson Rd near to the Pierce Reservoir, North Buona Vista Rd and also old Holland Rd where there are so many bends and corners. We were then using Suzuki 550cc training bikes. Our instructors were all very experienced bikers having spent all their life on biking, mostly ex traffic police mobile personnel.
    Yes, we did fall and some even ended with broken limbs. Training to handle this beast was tough. Before we went to the road, 3 months of solid training on the old PA Padang.
    Those days we didn’t use camera for speeding offenders. We had to ‘chase’ after speedsters. If the car was going at 150kph, we had to overtake and stop him racing even higher than that speed. That’s how we booked speedsters in those days. It’s dangerous job.

Comments are closed.