Train in the tunnel

20120421-020218.jpg

Lord Halifax, a former foreign secretary of Great Britain, once shared a railway compartment with two prim-looking spinsters.

20120421-020401.jpg

A few moments before reaching his destination the train passed through a tunnel. In the utter darkness Halifax kissed the back of his hand noisily several times.

20120421-020526.jpg

When the train drew into the station, he rose, lifted his hat, and in a gentlemanly way said:

20120421-021613.jpg

“May I thank whichever one of you two ladies I am indebted to for the charming incident in the tunnel.” He then beat a hasty retreat, leaving the two ladies glaring at each other.

‘Most of the faults are more pardonable than the means we use to conceal them’
La Rochefoucauld

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Train in the tunnel

  1. Lohcifer says:

    Reminds me of an old one:
    Long long ago.
    Sitting together on a train, travelling through the Swiss Alps, was Lee Kuan Yew, Mahathir, a little old Greek lady, and Princess Diana.
    The train goes into a dark tunnel and a few seconds later there is the sound of kissing, followed by a loud slap.
    When the train emerges from the tunnel, Mahathir has a bright red handprint on his cheek.
    No one speaks.
    The old lady thinks: This dirty old man, Mahathir, the Malaysian Prime Minister, must have groped Princess Diana in the dark, and she slapped his cheek.
    Princess Diana thinks: That dirty old man, Singapore Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew must have tried to grope me in the dark, but missed and fondled the old lady and she smacked his cheek.
    Mahathir thinks: Lee Kuan Yew must have groped Princess Diana in the dark. She tried to slap him but missed and walloped me instead. Langgar!
    Lee Kuan Yew thinks: I can’t wait for another tunnel, just so I can kiss my own hand nosily and slap that bastard Mahathir again.

  2. ROTFL ! [Roll on the floor and laugh] !

    Ppl are so ingenious that they could just imagine all kinds of jokes and situations to convey a msg. It indeed our good fortune to have brilliant leaders to lead us from a little tiny red dot to somewhere in this world where we punch above our weight so to speak!

Comments are closed.