People are like magnets

20120414-010320.jpg

People are like magnets. They are drawn to the positive and are repelled by the negative. It’s an important principle to understand when you are trying to get people to follow your direction.

Good leaders phrase their appeals in positive terms. Even when they’re criticizing subordinates, they appeal to them in a positive way.

20120414-010529.jpg

Some years ago a shoe manufacturer ran an ad on slippers. The headline under the picture of the slippers read: “Keeps feet from getting cold.”

The ad was a flop. Then the ad manager changed the headline to read: “Keeps feet warm and comfortable.”

Sales picked up immediately!

20120414-010902.jpg

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People are like magnets

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi, stumbled into your blog.. interesting. Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.