The Ungrateful Wolf

Deep in the jungle, under a huge banyan tree, a wicked wolf was enjoying his lunch. As he was gobbling down the food greedily, a bone got stuck in his throat.

20120331-141645.jpg

The wolf cried out in pain and agony. He tried his best to take out the bone. Alas! He failed! He could neither remove the bone nor swallow anything. It was a sad state for the greedy wolf.

20120331-141942.jpg

“I wonder who can take the bone out for me?” he thought as the pain started becoming unbearable.

20120331-142202.jpg

Just then, he saw a crane passing by. Seeing the crane’s long neck and beak, he knew that only the crane could help him out. He stopped the crane and said, “A bone has got stuck in my throat. If you pull it out for me, I will reward you handsomely.”

The crane was hesitant about putting her head in the wolf’s throat. On the other hand, being a kind creature, she did what the wolf asked her to do.

After the crane took out the bone, the wolf started walking away. “But what about the reward?” asked the crane anxiously.

20120331-142558.jpg

“What?” snarled the wolf, turning around. “Don’t you think I have already rewarded you?”

The crane was surprised.

20120331-142532.jpg

“Isn’t it enough that I let you take your head out of my mouth without snapping it off?” said the wolf haughtily and walked away.

The crane had no response to the wicked wolf’s statement.

Lesson learnt : “Expect no reward for serving the wicked!”

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.