Singapore population in brief

20120313-222528.jpg

Population Size & Growth
Singapore’s total population was 5.18 million as at end June 2011. There were 3.79 million Singapore residents, comprising 3.26 million Singapore citizens and 0.53 million permanent residents (PRs), and 1.39 million non-residents.

Due to the tightened immigration framework, the growth in our PR population has slowed significantly since 2010. This has contributed to the slower growth of our resident population from 1.0% in 2010 to 0.5% in 2011. As for the non-resident population, most are in Singapore to work. Singapore’s total employment grew by 115,900 in 2010, of which resident employment grew by 56,200. As more jobs were created than there are locals available to fill them, the remaining jobs were filled by our foreign workforce.

Aging Population
With increasing life expectancy and low fertility rates, the proportion of residents aged 65 and above has continued to rise. A rising proportion of the aged within the population could translate into higher socio-economic costs for all Singaporeans. The proportion of residents aged 65 and above increased from 7.2% in 2000 to 9.3% in 2011.

Marriage & Fertility
Singapore’s resident total fertility rate (TFR) reached a low of 1.15 in 2010. Singapore’s TFR has been on the decline and has remained below the replacement level of 2.1 for more than 30 years. Low fertility arises from various contributing and inter-related factors.
They include:
More people remaining single;
Marriages later in life;
Having children later in life, and having fewer or no children.

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends. At least they know I'm still alive and well. It's a free country. No one is forcing you to read if you don't like what I write. I'm entitled to my own opinions. Having said that, there are still retards, morons and losers out there hiding behind anonymity hurling all kinds of insults and wicked remarks on my blog. I guess we'll just have to live with these cowardly mangy dogs found in any society. Sigh!
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Singapore population in brief

  1. market2garden says:

    Must interpret the Budget 2012 (and the next 4 to 5 years) with the future population growth.

    market2garden 2012.03.14

    • Hi,
      Thks for your comment. Some of them still feel that there is not enug cheap foreign labour. As it is every 3.5 people in Singapore one is a foreigner. I think they are addicted to cheap foreign labour. They simply just can’t resist getting more to boost up more profits and revenues (foreign levy)! Soon it will be half locals ver half foreigners in this tiny piece of rock!

  2. agongkia says:

    You miss out the most important point that I am only interested in,i.e,the ratio of local men to women.
    On your marriage and fertility you should give some solution too.
    I am worried that more men marrying foreigner may result in our local capable and sweet ladies of child bearing age left on the shelf.I very keksim but can’t help much,though I would like very much to.
    Not because they want to marry late.,but maybe shortage of suitable local man.
    Please keep it a secret….how I wish I can help by having more wives but they dun allow polygamy.I can help to produce more children.
    Many Ah Lau will be sad if they hear that you said the rising population of the aged could translate into social economics cost for all SINgaporeans.They will read it as they are a burden to society.

    We must Ying Swee Sze Yian.Without them we will not be able to interact here.

  3. “饮水思源” is very important. I do agree with your point. But does the govt realize this?

    Just to remind you that whatever you mention here is no more secret. Maybe you shld consider changing to another religion where you can legally have 3 wives? U shld know what I’m referring to. Then you won’t be “Keksim!” Hope you will consider this option seriously.

    Thks for comment.

Comments are closed.