The Law As It Should Be …

20111102-224545.jpg

The Law As It Should Be….

Version 1
A man met a beautiful girl and she agreed to spend the night with him for $500. So they spent the night together.

In the morning, before he left, he told the girl that he did not have any cash with him, but that he would have his secretary write a cheque and mail it to her, calling the payment “Rent for Apartment.”

On the way to the office, he regretted what he had done, realizing that the whole event was not worth the price. So, he sent a cheque for $250 and enclosed a note:

Dear Madam,
Enclosed find a cheque in the amount of $250 for rent of your apartment. I am not sending the amount agreed upon because when I rented the apartment, I was under the impression that:

1. It had never been occupied.
2. There was plenty of heat.
3. It was small enough to make me cosy and at home.

Last night, however, I found out that it had been previously occupied, that there wasn’t any heat, and that it was entirely too large.

Upon receipt of the note, the girl immediately sent back the following & reply …..

Dear Sir:
First of all, I cannot understand how you expect such a beautiful apartment to remain unoccupied indefinitely. As for the heat, there is plenty of it if you know how to turn it on. Regarding the space, the apartment is indeed of regular size, but if you don’t have enough furniture to fill it, please don’t blame the landlord.

I will expect full payment due immediately or I will be forced to hire someone to remove your furniture.

Version 2
One evening after leaving the theatre, two men were walking down the road when they saw a well dressed and attractive lady walking ahead of them. One of the men turned to the other and remarked, “I would give $500 dollars to spend the night with her.” To their surprise, the lady overheard their remark and turning round, she said, “I’ll take you up for that.” She had a neat apprearance and pleasant voice. So bidding his friend goodnight the man accompanied the lady to her apartment where they immediately went to bed.

The following morning the man gave her $250 dollar cash and prepared to leave. She demanded the rest of the amount saying, “If you do not pay the balance, I shall sue you for it”. He laughed and said, “I’ll like to see you get it on these grounds.”

He was surprised when he received a summons to appear as defendant for the balance and damage and costs. He hurried to his lawyer and explained the details of the affair. However, the lawyer said she had not the possibility of getting the judgement, but it would be very interesting to see how the case was presented in court.

After the preliminaries, the lady’s lawyer addressed the court as follows… “Your honour, my client, this lady is an owner of a piece of property; a garden spot surrounded by profused growth of shrubbery, which she agreed to lend to the defendant for a specified length of time for $500 dollars. The defendant took possession of the property and used it extensively for the purpose for which it was rented, but on vacating the premises he paid only $250 dollars, one half of the amount agreed upon. The rent was not excessive since it was restricted property, therefore we ask for judggement against the defendant.”

The defending lawyer was impressed and amazed at the way his opponent presented the case. His defence was somewhat altered from the way he originally planned to present it. “Your Honour,” he said, “My client agrees that the yound lady has a fine piece of property, that she did rent such property for a while and that a certain amount of pleasure was derived from the transaction. However, my client found a well around which he placed his own stones, sunk a shaft and erected a pump. All labour was personally performed by him. We claim that these improvements to the property were sufficient to offset the unpaid amount. The plaintiff was adequately compensated for the rental of the said property. We therefore ask for the claim to be dismissed.”

The young lady’s lawyer came back with this. “Your Honour,” he said, “my client agrees that the defendant did find a well on the property and that he did make improvements as declared. However, had the defendant not known that the well existed, he would not have rented the property, also on vacating the premises, the defendant removed the stones, pulled out the shaft and took the pump with him. In doing so, he not only damaged his equipment through the shrubbery, but left a hole much larger that it was prior to his occupancy making it easily accessible to little children. We, therefore. ask for judgement in our favour.”

Judge:- “Judgement reserved pending a visit to the property.”
( After visiting the property )

Judge:- “Defendant is ordered to pay for the damage and costs as claimed within 24 hrs after which time if payment is not made, he will be thrown into the well with his stones and shaft and be required to do the pumping of the well at the leisure of the plaintiff.”

20111102-225023.jpg

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of Singapore. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I write for pleasure. I also write mainly for my family and friends. At least they know I'm still alive and well. It's a free country. No one is forcing you to read if you don't like what I write. I'm entitled to my own opinions. Having said that, there are still retards, morons and losers out there hiding behind anonymity hurling all kinds of insults and wicked remarks on my blog. I guess we'll just have to live with these cowardly mangy dogs found in any society. Sigh!
Image | This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.