Interview

More than a month ago, I suddenly received a note from one Desmond in one of my blog posts comment section requesting for an interview. I told him I would get back to him but kept putting it off until recently I managed to contact him again.

On 3 Aug, 2012, at 11:43, imprfct wrote:

Hi!

For the interview there’ll only be 5 questions:

1. What do you live for?

2. Why do you live for what you live for?

3. What are some of the best advices in life that you have been given/want to give to our readers?

4. Complete this sentence: Life is too short to … ______

5. Something random you’d like to say?

I’ve previously interviewed several people from Singapore and overseas.. You can check out their responses here: http://www.wdilf.com

Normally I’ve always conducted the interviews over email as it might be easier to type the responses and send over. However I think it’ll be great to be able to meet up with you to get to know you better too!

Regards,
Desmond

Instead of conducting the interview over email, I thought I might as well meet up with him. Last Sat, managed to meet up with Desmond for about 35 mins before I left for work.

I answered the five standard questions framed by him. He uses them for interviewing all his subjects. I was the 49th subject to be interviewed. Quite interesting.

I was quite curious why this enthusiastic young man would want to know others’ views on the five standard questions. He told me it’s fun learning experience for him. He wanted to compile a list of as many personalities as he would like to. All responses will be archived on his blog. By doing this, he wanted to leave his legacy behind for all.

The interview is re-produced below.

0049 – Gintai

Interviewer’s Note: According to himself, Alan is currently the only SMRT Train Officer who blogs (he uses the moniker Gintai in his blog, for those who are familiar). Am glad to have met up with him to conduct a face-to-face interview for this. He’s a great person to chat with and I look forward to be able to hang out with him again.

20120805-000018.jpg

Alan Tang / 49 / Singapore / Train Officer / gintai.wordpress.com / @palmuser_alan

What do you live for?
I’m a simple man who lives for simple things in life.

Why?
I belong to that generation that has lived through kampong days where we used to have a hole in the ground, and the night soil carrier would come and collect human waste from it. Back in those days, there were no proper sanitary systems installed for us, nor did we enjoy luxury pleasures. We were poor but also appreciated what we had. Even today, I still do appreciate what I have and live life to the fullest as an independent, non-religious man.

What is some of the best advice that you have been given/want to give our readers?
Don’t envy people nor compare yourself with others. Appreciate and be grateful with what you have. If people can afford a bungalow, so be it! Constantly being jealous of others’ life will only make you feel bitter about yourself at the end of the day.

Complete this sentence. Life is too short to…
… envy others. Live your life fully.

Something random you’d like to say?
Sometimes in life, you have to langgar!

Pls click here to view the source.

Click here to read an interesting article.

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of SG. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I also share some of the interesting jokes, stories or anecdotes from my friends or observations on my blog. Thanks for visiting my blog.
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Interview

  1. I like the langgar bit… made my morning…haha

  2. dotseng says:

    I fail to understand. What is the goal? The questions are superficial. So must be the questions. They offer close to zero. What then is the goal? I do not understand.

    This could just be a very good way to infiltrate bloggers. I will not recommend it. As I am still confused as to the goal. Very very confused.

    I am sorry, I don’t mean to be rude. I just don’t get this at all.

    Darkness 2012

    • Hi Darkness2012,
      You are not rude. You are always welcome here to share your insightful analysis. Like someone mentioned somewhere, you ought to be directing those gods for the betterment of our society! It’s their loss not to engage your good self.
      I chose to meet him personally instead of answering his email. He’s a young idealistic student doing some media studies. It’s all std questions. He put up the replies on my behalf to his five std questions. I don’t doubt his sincerity. Yes, it’s rather shallow in a sense. How do you assess a person by merely asking five questions?
      I studied all your posts in your blog – tons of them on different varied issues, and your interesting short story write-up based in London yet I also could not fathom your inner thoughts and mindset. It’s not easy indeed.

  3. Desmond says:

    Perhaps I started this project out of my dissatisfaction of how a lot of people around me simply seem to not know/care about what they are living for. I observe many people carelessly allowing their lives to go on autopilot, routine after routine, probably never fully aware of the importance/miracle of their existence in this world at all.

    I’m not saying their way of life is wrong, because it is subjective. But it feels wrong to me because I can never understand why someone can live that way, nor allow myself to adopt that kind of lifestyle. That has also led me to wonder.. what do everyone actually think about what it means to live? How many different perspectives can I discover?

    I hope that with this project, I can start reminding people (be it the interviewees or the blog’s readers) to slow down, stop and start thinking deeply about their lives (our society is moving too fast, in my opinion). I do not only approach bloggers, of course. Sometimes the people I approach happen to have a blog, but they don’t necessarily consider themselves bloggers at all (neither do I).

    It is true that with just 5 questions it is not possible to fully get to know a person. But that is not my goal. I merely hope that the people I have approached will want to answer those questions for themselves honestly. Perhaps they can discover something new about themselves. Perhaps they can give a superficial answer, get it done and over with. Perhaps what they think they live for right now will be different tomorrow. It’s all up to them.

    This project mirrors my learning journey with people I have and haven’t met as I grow older. Maybe I am trying to discover the best way to live. Maybe this project can carry on even after I die. Ultimately, the main focus of this project are the stories collected, not me.

  4. Desmond says:

    Hi Darkness2012,

    I hope what I’ve written above can help you understand this project better? It is flawed but I’m trying to improve it. So feel free to offer your insights. :)

    • dotseng says:

      Hi Desmond,

      OK. I think, I’ve made a bloody ass of myself. Mea culpa is in order to you and Gintai et al as well. You have argued your case well Desmond. I especially like this part,

      “I started this project out of my dissatisfaction of how a lot of people around me simply seem to not know/care about what they are living for.”

      I guess what you are trying to express here is the Aristolean idea of leading an examined life viz-a-viz “an unexamined life is not worth living.”

      That makes perfect sense Desmond. Once again, do ignore my silly and immature comments :)

      Darkness 2012

  5. agongkia says:

    I used to have such many anonymous people requesting me for such interview and answers.To me, either they are Gay or special agent trying to figure out some doubt they have on me.

    For the interview there’ll only be 5 answers:

    1. What do you live for?
    Woman.

    2. Why do you live for what you live for?
    Live for Woman because they can bring me happiness.

    3. What are some of the best advices in life that you have been given/want to give to our readers?
    Woman give birth to us so we must be grateful and be extra good to woman.

    4. Complete this sentence: Life is too short to … ______neglect woman.

    5. Something random you’d like to say?
    Be good to woman or you will live to regret.
    In case he is short of one interviewee, give him my answer .

    • The saying, we came from the hole, live by the hole and will die buried in a hole holds true as far as agongkia is concerned! Lol!

      PS: Sometimes, we get into trouble as a result of the hole. Word of caution, look out for the misleading black hole not in the universe but around us! Langgar!

      Quotable quote from Darkness2012
      “I mean let’s face it, with buy one get another free cheebai’s all over the place and at every corner – that’s bound to corrode discipline.”

      http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2012/08/07/working-and-studying-out-of-singapore-for-your-degree-part-2-lodgings/

      • agongkia says:

        Gintai
        Others use to say Ling Ai Mei Ren,Pu Ai Chiang San.
        Me like to say,Chze Ai Nee Ren ,Pu Ai Chiang San.
        I understand why those who feel that many around them simply seem to not know/care about what they are living for and allowing their lives to go on autopilot, routine after routine, probably never fully aware of the importance/miracle of their existence in this world at all.
        Nee Ren out there are meant to be admired ,pampered and love.Dun fail to do your part..

    • dominatrix says:

      You are wasting bandwidth with your crap as usual. Get a life lah please.

Comments are closed.