To Tweet or Not To Tweet – That’s The Question!

20120126-100511.jpg

Recently, there was a little discussion on a German Forum about Twitter and the new social media. I was quite taken aback that there are some older folks especially those from the 1st world countries who are strongly against twitter and the new social media. There is even a movement against it!

I have taken the liberty to reproduce the amicable discussion here for the benefit of all. It’s worth pondering over the usefulness or wastefulness of the new social media.

Pls click here to read related article.

Posted: 12.01.2012, 10:58
Post subject: Follow Me on Twitter

I’ve succumbed, re-activated my Twitter account. Also, since I’m supposed to be a Change Management “maestro” of sorts, I don’t want to be seen lagging behind technology.

If you wish, follow me on Twitter.

My Twitter name is Lohcifer.
_________________
Warmest regards
Dr Mike

Dear Mike,
“Lohcifer” – ROTFL!!!

Absolutely fantastic!
_________________
Liebe Grüße aus Köln
Heinz

Dear Mike,
Thanks for your invitation. Unfortunately I am to old to enter any other so called social network except Pfeifen und mehr. And since I`m the President of the global Movement “Fight the Non-Sense” – an international association against Facebook, Linkedlin, Twitter, SMS and the on-going stultification of Politicians I`m forced to refuse.
_________________
Liebe Grüße aus München
Bodo I
…vorher nachdenken…
++++hier gibt es etwas zu sehen++++

Lohcifer, what else! After 3 nuns. None nicer !

Greetings
Karl

Ha ha the “Lohcifer” name is just right for me! Diabolical huh?

By the way my blog is Lohandbehold.

Bodo,
You don’t need any of those social or even professional networking stuff but the rest of nobodies need all the help we can get to move forward.
_________________
Warmest regards
Dr Mike

Hahaha! I have hit more than 10,000 tweets @palmuser_alan. Remember I dedicated my 10,000th tweet to you @Lohcifer? Hahaha!

Bodo,
You are fighting a losing battle. The tide of new media is coming like the tsunami. Can’t beat them why not join them? Hahaha!
_________________
Regards from Singapore
— Alan —

http://gintai.wordpress.com

Dearest Alan,
I love to fight even it is like fighting against windmills. The year of the dragon will support me. Facebook, Twitter and others are soulless demons!
_________________
Liebe Grüße aus München
Bodo I
…vorher nachdenken…
++++hier gibt es etwas zu sehen++++

Alamak ! Bodo, you really will fight against the windmills? Dr Mike already relented and joined twitter. Can’t beat them join them!

Pls read this blog on twitter.

It may change your mind a little.

Hahaha! I like your spirit. Keep it up as long as you are happy doing it.
_________________
Regards from Singapore
— Alan —

http://gintai.wordpress.com

Alan,
I am fully supporting Bodo here. Seem like Asia is more enthusiastic about social media than Europe. Click the link here.
In addition German pipe smokers in their fifties are totally immune against social media as they spend their valuable time smoking not twittering.

Regards
Ernst

Hi Ernst,
Thks for your comments. I do agree with you that Twitter appeals more to the young and in Asia esp China.

In Europe or America, there is much freedom of speech and expressions as compared to Asian countries or elsewhere. So it makes it quite a waste of time in your situation. Whereas in other countries where the normal mainstream media are heavily censored – including Singapore where there is ONLY one media conglomerate i.e. SPH – Singapore Press Holdings which is widely acknowledged to be a pro govt mouthpiece.

It is a fact that every Chairman of SPH is an ex cabinet govt minister. Our present President was Chairman of SPH before he got elected as President of Singapore with only 33% of support from the citizens. As such, the new social media i.e. Twitter, Blog or FB are here to counter that. Our opposition politicians fully harness them since SPH doesn’t give them much space. They just can’t shut down the new social media unless they ban internet and end up like Burma – hermit outpost.

In China where opposition is illegal. Only the CPC – Comminist Party of China rules the country. The Chinese people has got their “新浪微博” ( Xīnlàng Wēibó ); literally meant “Sina”! Link here. This is important to the Chinese masses where they use this i.e. “Weibo” to expose and shame many corrupt incompetent officials especially in the remote provinces. The Chinese saying, “The mountain is high and the emperor is far” suggests that the central government is weak in the remote regions. They have got no choice but to resort to the powerful “Weibo” – their own version of Twitter or micro blogging.

From past experiences, many high level govt officials met their downfall thru this social median i.e. Twitter. As such, it is not a waste of time to them. It is their way of getting at those corrupt officials in a one party communist system in China. The only avenue for them to vent their frustrations and register their displeasure. The gods in communist China usually act on those tweets if those facts could be proven.

Another historical fact worth mention is the recent Arab Spring which led to the downfall of despotic regimes due to Twitter. Libya’s Gadaffi, Egypt’s Mubarak regime change etc were partly due to Twitter. The truth is out there for all to see.

We live in different countries with different social norms and practices albeit in a small global village. There is no one standard system that fits all. I hope you see my point just as I take note of your particular situation which we in Singapore, China or elsewhere truly envy your human rights supremacy where humans are treated with respect and dignity. Like I told Bodo earlier just do what you feel happy doing!

Cheers.
_________________
Regards from Singapore
— Alan –

http://gintai.wordpress.com

Alan,
See this link.

Twitter is adding 11 new accounts per second.

I believe too many people are wasting time on Twitter, Facebook, MSN or Yahoo! or ICQ or other chat programs. However, used wisely, these could be great tools, just as Skype is a great tool for many people too.
_________________
Warmest regards
Dr Mike

Hi Alan,
This is indeed very interesting what you write about freedom of media. I never thought about that.

I booked a flight to Bejing with my wife during easter holidays, as I was only travelling shortly for business to China and this time I want to look around and talk to the people.

By the way:
Is pipe smoking allowed in bars over there?

All the best
Ernst

Read “China’s parallel universe” – extremely well written by former Foreign Minister of Singapore, George Yeo and Eric X. Li who is a venture capitalist in Shanghai.

20120126-100845.jpg

About Gintai_昇泰

I'm a Chinese Singaporean living in the Eastern part of SG. I tweet on current affairs & inspirational quotes. I blog on issues or events if they interest me. I also share some of the interesting jokes, stories or anecdotes from my friends or observations on my blog. Thanks for visiting my blog.
This entry was posted in Langgar. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To Tweet or Not To Tweet – That’s The Question!

  1. Mike Loh says:

    Echoing David Pogue, I’m sometimes smugly entertained by the older generation’s reaction to the fads of the Web. “Twitter? Why on earth would I want other people to know about my private life? Who’s got the time for that nonsense?” Come on, people. Open your mind. I re-activated my Twitter because I don’t want to suffer from Early-Onset Fuddy-Duddyism.

  2. Remember if the rate of change outside exceeds the rate of change inside then the end is in sight? Hahaha!

  3. Pingback: 14 Oct 2012: Lunch With Ernst Vogtle at Beng Hiang Restaurant | Gintai_昇泰

Comments are closed.